Thoughts to Ponder from Jeremiah 20:10-13

Jeremiah 20:10-13 (ESV)

10 For I hear many whispering.
    Terror is on every side!
“Denounce him! Let us denounce him!”
    say all my close friends,
    watching for my fall.
“Perhaps he will be deceived;
    then we can overcome him
    and take our revenge on him.”
11 But the Lord is with me as a dread warrior;
    therefore my persecutors will stumble;
    they will not overcome me.
They will be greatly shamed,
    for they will not succeed.
Their eternal dishonor
    will never be forgotten.
12 O Lord of hosts, who tests the righteous,
    who sees the heart and the mind,
let me see your vengeance upon them,
    for to you have I committed my cause.

13 Sing to the Lord;
    praise the Lord!
For he has delivered the life of the needy
    from the hand of evildoers.

Have you ever felt like people were out to get you? Or maybe you have felt as though someone has worked to undermine or mock you. Well, you’re not alone. In fact, you’re in good company. In today’s Scripture, we see a hero of the faith responding to public smearing, threats, and betrayal.

So how do you respond when you find yourself in a situation like this? Do you echo Jeremiah’s plea: “O Lord of hosts…let me witness the vengeance you take on them (Jeremiah 20:12)? Or do you follow Jesus’ words: “Love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your heavenly Father” (Matthew 5:44-45).

Place yourself in Jeremiah’s shoes. He had been given the heavy task of proclaiming prophecies of judgment on his wayward family, friends, and countrymen. He prayed to the Lord to have mercy, but the people repaid him with plots to kill him. In fact, Jeremiah’s prayer today’s Scripture passage follows the discovery of a second plot to kill him!

Although Jeremiah adds a sharp, vengeful little request in his prayer, he nonetheless exemplifies an admirable response to injustice and malice. He takes his broken heart to God. And this sign of trust pleased the Lord deeply. He comforted Jeremiah, gave him strength for his task, and even rescued him from “the power of the wicked” who were out to get him (Jeremiah 20:13).

Do you believe that you can go to your Father in just the same way? It’s true. It won’t upset  him to hear your frustration. And it’s much better to let it out than to keep it inside. God knows your heart, and he is always ready to give you his heart as you pour out yours to him.

As you try this open, two-way approach, you will begin to see your prayers of anger and frustration turn into prayers of compassion and mercy. Give God the time, and he will transform you!

Father, I trust that you will be patient with me when I share my heart with you. Please hear my prayer, and teach me the way of love and forgiveness. Amen.

About Andy

Welcome to my blog! I know it may not be the most exciting place in the world but it is home. With that please respect this site and what we stand for (which should be evident by the content). Please be respectful and kind to others and do not "trash" my house. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I encourage you to make comments to the posts on this blog - dialog is how we grow. NOTE: if you frequent this blog would you please register as a "follower" so that I know how many people are benefitting from this blog. I would appreciate it.Come in, look around and I hope you enjoy what you see. Peace Andy View all posts by Andy

Leave a comment