Thoughts to Ponder from John 17:11-19

John 17:11-19 (ESV)

11 And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. 12 While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled. 13 But now I am coming to you, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves. 14 I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 15 I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 17 Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth. 18 As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. 19 And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.

“They do not belong to the world” (John 17:16)

It’s natural for us to regard God as outside the world. After all, he created it. He breathed life into everything that lives. He sent his Son, Jesus, into the world, where he showed that he had power over all the forces in the world: He calmed storms, healed the sick, raised the dead, and multiplied bread and fish. And to top it all off, he showed that not even death had sway over him. He simply rose again, and then ascended out of this world, back to heaven where he came from.

So if Jesus is outside of this world, does that mean that we are not? Are we mere creatures, meant to remain bound by the limitations  of this fallen world? No! Twice in today’s Gospel, Jesus told his Father: “They do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world” (John 17:14-16). What an amazing statement! Even though we are still part of this world and we still need to be protected from the evil one, we are also one with Christ.

Think of it: The lives we now live, we live by faith in Christ who died for us (Galatians 2:20). That faith is the belief that our old selves did die on the cross. It’s faith that we can live a new life and that he who began a good work in us will see it to completion (Philippians 1:6). Faith that we will never lack the power, energy, and resources we need to live in union with Christ. Faith that the love of the Father will always be available to fill us and overflow from us, just as it did Jesus’ life.

You do not belong to this world any more than Jesus does. Though you are not impervious to the evils that are part of life in this world, you can say no to them and not submit to their attraction. You can say no to greed and avarice. You can be freed from anger and lust. You no longer have to overeat or drink irresponsibly. You belong to God. Declare that this is true today, and look for all the opportunities God will give you to choose to live his new life. Remember: You belong to Jesus!

Thank you, Jesus, for rescuing me from this fallen world. Show me today how to live as a citizen of heaven. Amen

wau

About Andy

Welcome to my blog! I know it may not be the most exciting place in the world but it is home. With that please respect this site and what we stand for (which should be evident by the content). Please be respectful and kind to others and do not "trash" my house. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I encourage you to make comments to the posts on this blog - dialog is how we grow. NOTE: if you frequent this blog would you please register as a "follower" so that I know how many people are benefitting from this blog. I would appreciate it.Come in, look around and I hope you enjoy what you see. Peace Andy View all posts by Andy

Leave a comment