Daily Archives: January 12, 2022

Evening Prayer: January 12th

IMG_0300

Holy One, my sound mind and body were tested today, so I called on your strength and you granted it to me. I am reminded that I have been blessed to have my spirit lightened by your presence with me today. Now, quiet my mind and still my body as I lie down to sleep with your faithfulness as my cover. I ask this prayer in the blessed name of Christ Jesus. Amen.


Hymn: Be Thou My Vision by Eleanor H. Hull

1 Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart;
naught be all else to me, save that thou art.
Thou my best thought, by day or by night,
waking or sleeping, thy presence my light.

2 Be thou my wisdom, be thou my true word;
I ever with thee, and thou with me, Lord.
Born of thy love, thy child may I be,  
thou in me dwelling and I one with thee.

3 Be thou my buckler, my sword for the fight.
Be thou my dignity, thou my delight,
thou my soul’s shelter, thou my high tow’r.
Raise thou me heav’nward, O Pow’r of my pow’r.

4 Riches I heed not, nor vain empty praise;
thou mine inheritance, now and always.
Thou and thou only, first in my heart,
Ruler of heaven, my treasure thou art.

5 True Light of heaven, when vict’ry is won
may I reach heaven’s joys, O bright heav’n’s Sun!
Heart of my heart, whatever befall,
still be my vision, O Ruler of all.


From A.W. Tozer

Athirst for God: A Tribute to A.W. Tozer