Daily Archives: May 17, 2024

Evening Prayer: May 17th

O God of hope beyond sight, in whom we hope for what we cannot see, grant us the patience of those who know that delay is not denial. Reassure us that the future belongs to those who know how to wait without being stuck. Grant me, Loving God, a restful night. Watch over those for whom I pray. As I close my eyes, I am comforted knowing your Light shines in the darkness. In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Amen


Daily Scripture Passage: Acts 15:7-21

Acts 15:7-21 (ESV)

And after there had been much debate, Peter stood up and said to them, “Brothers, you know that in the early days God made a choice among you, that by my mouth the Gentiles should hear the word of the gospel and believe. And God, who knows the heart, bore witness to them, by giving them the Holy Spirit just as he did to us, and he made no distinction between us and them, having cleansed their hearts by faith. 10 Now, therefore, why are you putting God to the test by placing a yoke on the neck of the disciples that neither our fathers nor we have been able to bear? 11 But we believe that we will be saved through the grace of the Lord Jesus, just as they will.”

12 And all the assembly fell silent, and they listened to Barnabas and Paul as they related what signs and wonders God had done through them among the Gentiles. 13 After they finished speaking, James replied, “Brothers, listen to me. 14 Simeon has related how God first visited the Gentiles, to take from them a people for his name. 15 And with this the words of the prophets agree, just as it is written,

16 “‘After this I will return,
and I will rebuild the tent of David that has fallen;
I will rebuild its ruins,
     and I will restore it,
17 that the remnant of mankind may seek the Lord,
    and all the Gentiles who are called by my name,
     says the Lord, who makes these things18 known from of old.’

19 Therefore my judgment is that we should not trouble those of the Gentiles who turn to God,20 but should write to them to abstain from the things polluted by idols, and from sexual immorality, and from what has been strangled, and from blood. 21 For from ancient generations Moses has had in every city those who proclaim him, for he is read every Sabbath in the synagogues.”


Thoughts to Ponder from John 15:9-11

John 15:9-11 (ESV)

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. 10 If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. 11 These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.

“I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy may be complete” (John 15:11).

When a child is very young, his parents set firm, simple rules. A two-year-old doesn’t need a long lecture about why the stove is hot. He just needs to be told not to touch it. Only as he matures does he come to understand that his parents set boundaries because they love him. And that understanding helps draw him closer to them, making him want to take on their values and goals.

In a similar way, Jesus says that our obedience to him will help us abide in him and even fill us with great joy. As the sin that blocks our relationship with God is removed, we become more free to gaze on him and experience his love in greater depth. Keeping the commandments is not meant to be a matter of just gritting our teeth. It’s a tool for deepening our fellowship with Christ and being drawn more deeply into his life. The process is a bit like a spiral: Obedience draws us into a deeper relationship with Christ, which makes us want to turn away from things that block the relationship.

The apostles were beginning to understand this when they dealt with the question of Gentile converts (Acts 15:7-21). They didn’t want to burden these new believers with a yoke that they themselves couldn’t bear. Rather, the apostles wanted them to get to the heart of Jesus’ commandments – love of God and neighbor – and then learn from there what Jesus was calling them to do.

Think about how Mother Teresa of Calcutta stayed focused on Jesus. Did she obey the commandments? Beautifully! But not because she felt a burdensome mandate. She just didn’t want anything to keep her from Jesus!

So don’t look at the commandments as a burden. Rather, see in them a powerful way to remain in Jesus’ love.

Lord, I don’t want to do anything to separate myself from you. May my obedience be inspired by love, and may my relationship with you bring me greater and greater joy. Amen.

From The Word Among Us, May 26th, 2011.