Thoughts to Ponder from John 15:18-21

John 15:18-21 (ESV)

The Hatred of the World

18 “If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. 19 If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you. 20 Remember the word that I said to you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours. 21 But all these things they will do to you on account of my name, because they do not know him who sent me.

Poised on the precipice of an agonizing death, Jesus was thinking of what his followers – including us – would face in the times ahead. Hatred, rejection, and persecution might be in store, as they had been for him. Amazing! Jesus was facing a painful end to his life, but he remained focused on the people around him. His entire farewell discourse was other-centered: I love you. I will not leave you alone. I want to keep you from falling away. I will send you another, who will guide you in all truth (John 15:9-16:13).

The writer of Hebrews assures us: “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever” (13:8). Just as Jesus cared on the night before he died, he cares now. He cares about the difficulties that arise for his faithful followers. He knows what is in store for you. He cares about the things you face. Rejection. Exclusion. Gossip and misunderstanding. Nothing that happens in your day comes as a surprise to him. And none of it is out of his power to protect or comfort or empower you to deal with. He has already seen it!

Best of all, he knows you. He knows how much you can bear. He will walk with you no matter where the path leads and he will be your strength. At the same time, he is able to do immeasurably more than you will ever ask or imagine. He knows what you need in every situation and has promised his Holy Spirit to provide it.

Jesus cares for you. And you can know it. You can experience that care and concern right now. This is what he is trying to tell the disciples at the Last Supper, and it’s what he tells us every time we gather to worship. The Holy Spirit who is coming – who has already come to us – wants to guide and teach and comfort everyone, even you. So take some time today to sit quietly with God. Tell him the things that hurt you right now, and ask for his comforting presence. Sit still, and wait for him to give you the peace that only he can give. Expect him to strengthen and encourage you in whatever you are facing.

Jesus, I believe that you care about every circumstance of my life, including the difficult ones. Help me to experience your love and reassuring presence as I face them today. Amen.

From The Word Among Us, May 28th, 2011.

About Andy

Welcome to my blog! I know it may not be the most exciting place in the world but it is home. With that please respect this site and what we stand for (which should be evident by the content). Please be respectful and kind to others and do not "trash" my house. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I encourage you to make comments to the posts on this blog - dialog is how we grow. NOTE: if you frequent this blog would you please register as a "follower" so that I know how many people are benefitting from this blog. I would appreciate it.Come in, look around and I hope you enjoy what you see. Peace Andy View all posts by Andy

Leave a comment