Daily Archives: June 10, 2024

Evening Prayer: June 10th

Holy Savior, evening has come. For another day I have tried to live as you would want. There were times I heeded your word; thank you for being with me and guiding me. Forgive me for the times I ignored your nudge and selfishly went my own way. Guide me, precious Savior, to rest this night in you. I turn the care I have been carrying to your keeping. In Jesus’ name. Amen.


Daily Scripture Passage: Psalm 119:129-135

Psalm 119:129-135 (ESV)

129 Your testimonies are wonderful;
    therefore my soul keeps them.
130 The unfolding of your words gives light;
    it imparts understanding to the simple.
131 I open my mouth and pant,
    because I long for your commandments.
132 Turn to me and be gracious to me,
    as is your way with those who love your name.
133 Keep steady my steps according to your promise,
    and let no iniquity get dominion over me.
134 Redeem me from man’s oppression,
    that I may keep your precepts.
135 Make your face shine upon your servant,
    and teach me your statutes.


Thoughts to Ponder from 2 Corinthians 1:18-22

2 Corinthians 1:18-22 (ESV)

18 As surely as God is faithful, our word to you has not been Yes and No. 19 For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, whom we proclaimed among you, Silvanus and Timothy and I, was not Yes and No, but in him it is always Yes.20 For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory. 21 And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, 22 and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.

“For all the promises of God find their Yes in him” (2 Corinthians 1:20)

Perhaps we should all join the chorus of saints and angels and declare this staggering truth out loud: Jesus, you are the resounding Yes to everything that God has ever promised!

This may sound more like a theological truth than a reason to celebrate. But there is something wonderful embedded in this statement: Jesus is the answer to all of our dreams and desires! He is the answer to all of our wounds and all of our needs. This is why prayer is so important. We need to spend time with the Lord so that he can imprint his promises oni our hearts and convince us that his “yes” and “amen” really can fill our lives.

Imagine a large orchestra on a grand stage. As the music begins, the instruments play in perfect harmony. Gradually the music builds and fills the whole room, climaxing with a loud clash of cymbals. You hear all this with your ears, but the music stirs your heart as well – and the experience stays with you long after the concert is over.

In a similar way, as you spend time with Jesus, his love and life become like an orchestra. The dreams and desires he has for you will begin to resound within you. His love becomes a triumphant cymbal clash deep in your heart. It is Jesus declaring his faithfulness to you – and that truth stays with you as an anchor for your soul.

As Jesus fills you with confidence in his promises, a wonderful thing happens. You won’t be able to keep it hidden! You will want to proclaim him to everyone you meet. You won’t want to hide your light under a bushel basket anymore. Rather, your light will shine before others. You may not recognize it at first, but those around you will see it, and their lives will change as well.

Today, give Jesus a chance to convince you a little bit more that he is faithful. Let his music echo on your heart. Let him become the “yes” that your heart longs to hear.

Jesus, I want to take hold of your promises. Open my heart to hear you say ‘yes’ as you build your life in me. May your light shine in me and through me, so that others will be drawn to you. Amen.

From The Word Among Us, June 9th 2009