Daily Archives: October 25, 2021

Evening Prayer: October 25th

img_1660

Forgiving and gracious God, in the stillness of the night, I confess my sins before you, knowing that I am a sinner in need of your saving grace and direction. I thank you for guiding and directing my path this day. The day is drawing to a close. I pray that I have lived your Word, your love, and your works this day. I pray that my life has been an example of all that your child, Jesus, died for. Sovereign God, I rest this night with the assurance that your angels are keeping watch over me. Bind evil in the walls of hell, that I, your child, may rest in peace this night. In Jesus’ name. Amen.


Daily Scripture Passage: Psalm 145:2-9

Bible2ad

Psalm 145:2-9 (ESV)

Every day I will bless you
    and praise your name forever and ever.
Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised,
    and his greatness is unsearchable.

One generation shall commend your works to another,
    and shall declare your mighty acts.
On the glorious splendor of your majesty,
    and on your wondrous works, I will meditate.
They shall speak of the might of your awesome deeds,
    and I will declare your greatness.
They shall pour forth the fame of your abundant goodness
    and shall sing aloud of your righteousness.

The Lord is gracious and merciful,
    slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
The Lord is good to all,
    and his mercy is over all that he has made.


Thoughts to Ponder from Jeremiah 1:1, 4-10

church

Jeremiah 1:1, 4-10 (ESV)

1 The words of Jeremiah, the son of Hilkiah, one of the priests who were in Anathoth in the land of Benjamin…

Now the word of the Lord came to me, saying,

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
and before you were born I consecrated you;
I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Then I said, “Ah, Lord God! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.”But the Lord said to me,

“Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’;
for to all to whom I send you, you shall go,
and whatever I command you, you shall speak.
Do not be afraid of them,
for I am with you to deliver you,
declares the Lord.”

Then the Lord put out his hand and touched my mouth. And the Lordsaid to me,

“Behold, I have put my words in your mouth.
10 See, I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms,
to pluck up and to break down,
to destroy and to overthrow,
to build and to plant.”

“To whomever I send you, you shall go” (Jeremiah 1:7).

The prophet Jeremiah was sent to the people of Jerusalem during a time of sweeping change. As a boy, he saw his country flourish under the sunset of the Davidic dynasty. It was around this time that Jeremiah answered God’s call – a call recounted in today’s Scripture lesson. But as Jeremiah grew older, the seasons changed. Autumn’s pleasure gave way to winter’s bitterness when the Babylonian empire overran Jerusalem and sent many of the people into exile.

Through all this upheaval, Jeremiah faithfully answered his call to speak on God’s behalf. He reminded the people of their covenant with God. He shed light on their sins, but also illuminated the faithfulness of the Lord. He predicted their imminent exile, but he prophesied hope, too, saying that after seventy years, the people would return home to enjoy a springtime of divine favor. Jeremiah revealed that a new covenant – a deeper revelation of God’s love – was on the horizon. All of these messages helped usher the people through a pivotal time in their history.

How did Jeremiah accomplish all of this? He might say, “I just answered the call. God did the rest! He gave me the words to speak, the courage to speak them, and the protection I needed from my enemies.

God has a calling for you, too! As he sent Jeremiah to the people of Jerusalem, he wants to send you to your own “people” today. That could mean your family members or co-workers. It could be a fellow parishioner or a stranger on the street. He is asking you not just to speak a message of love but to demonstrate this love with just as much humility and conviction. So show people Jesus through your smile, your encouraging voice, and your careful service. In so doing, you will help usher people into their own deeper experience of the gospel, God’s covenant of love.

So imitate Jeremiah. Prayerfully seek out God’s call, and answer it. Then let him do the rest! Trust that he will give you the words to say, the courage to say them, and protection from the enemy.

Lord Jesus, I humbly accept your call on my life. Amen.

wau