Thoughts to Ponder from John 13:16-20

John 13:16-20 (ESV)

16 Truly, truly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17 If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them. 18 I am not speaking of all of you; I know whom I have chosen. But the Scripture will be fulfilled, ‘He who ate my bread has lifted his heel against me.’ 19 I am telling you this now, before it takes place, that when it does take place you may believe that I am he.20 Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever receives the one I send receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.”

Have you ever had a day like this? You wake up determined to make a difference in the world by living for Christ and being his humble servant. You spring out of bed, zealous to be the messenger of his love – just the kind Jesus had in mind when he said, “Whoever receives the one I send receives me” (John 13:20).

By evening, though, the spring in your step is gone, and you wonder what happened. You tried hard to live as an ambassador for Christ. You really wanted people to know that Jesus is the source of your joy and your peace. Yet looking back on the day, you still had a sense that something was missing. It was as if all your efforts were inadequate – not sufficiently persuasive, faithful, or even loving.

Days like this are bound to come, but when they do, we should look at them as special gifts from God. It’s on these days that we are reminded that our human efforts, as invaluable as they are, can still come up short. Just as Peter and the other apostles had to let Jesus wash their feet, the same is true for us (John 13:3-12). It’s only as we let Jesus minister to us that we will be made fully fit to do all that God is asking of us.

Picture yourself at the bottom of a massive staircase, with Jesus standing at the top. The sight of his glory, and the sense of love coming from his heart captivate you and make you want to be with him. But every time you try to go up a step or two, you slip back. Finally, frustrated and a little bit sore from all your falls, you cry out for help. In an instant, Jesus descends to the lowest step, sweeps you up in his arms, and carries you up to the top.

Don’t let today become “one of those days”! Instead, start out by placing yourself in the Lord’s presence through prayer and peaceful openness. Let him wash your feet. It’s true: You’ll never become a messenger of God’s love on your own. But it is also true that God never intended you to. May this truth fill all of your hearts with joy and encouragement.

Jesus, you love me enough to send me to share you with others. Give me a heart of gentle humility, that I may serve as you served. Amen.

From The Word Among Us, May 7th, 2009

About Andy

Welcome to my blog! I know it may not be the most exciting place in the world but it is home. With that please respect this site and what we stand for (which should be evident by the content). Please be respectful and kind to others and do not "trash" my house. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I encourage you to make comments to the posts on this blog - dialog is how we grow. NOTE: if you frequent this blog would you please register as a "follower" so that I know how many people are benefitting from this blog. I would appreciate it.Come in, look around and I hope you enjoy what you see. Peace Andy View all posts by Andy

Leave a comment